PDA

View Full Version : INFO ON PHOTOGRAPHER ALBOT WATSON

ALEX DEANE
1-Dec-2000, 05:57
i AM A COLLEGE STUDENT AND NEED ANY INFO YOU CAN GIVE ME ON WELL KNOWN LARGE FOR MAT PHOTOGRAPHERS.PLAESE

Simon_1319
1-Dec-2000, 07:30
Hmmm. This is suspicious.

1. We've got someone claiming to be "A COLLEGE STUDENT" and yet he/she types the query in all capital letters; I can't believe anyone could make it three months into the school year and not know how rude this is.

2. They mysteriously "NEED" information. For what? Personal photographic growth? A paper due on Friday? Discussion fodder for a weekend kegger?

3. "Any info on well-known large-format photographers" is a much-too-vague request. By definition, if a photographer is well-known, entire books have been written about him or her. Are we supposed to cut-and-paste the text from these books into the "Answer" box here? And doesn't this person's college have a library?

4. What happened to the "ALBOT WATSON" request on the Question line? It's quite a non-sequitur to jump from "Albot Watson" to "well-known photographers." I didn't want to spend more than twice as much time researching the subject as Alex did, so I spent about 20 seconds looking in the index of Rosenblum's history of photography (694 pages) and Frizot's (775 pages). No mention of Watson.

---------

Alex, if you press the third key up on the left (just above the Shift key) before typing, and give us more specific information, we'll try to help.

Good l

Simon_1319
1-Dec-2000, 08:04
The plot thickens....

Just a hunch, but the "Watson" got me thinking about British photographers (it's elementary!). "Albot" sounds like saying "Albert" with a full nose, but could Alex be seeking the famous photographic pioneer T. Albot "Henry Fox" Watson?