PDA

View Full Version : New to L.F.

dancordle
19-Dec-2007, 12:41
Greetings to all. I'm new to L.F. and have purchased an Agfa-Ansco 5x7 as my first L.F. camera. To date I've used 35mm, (mostly film and some digital) and medim format film cameras. I'm exitedly expecting the arrival of the 5x7 and couldn't be happier to be learning new things. So please bear with me if my question is intolerably naive. I'm unfamiliar with L.F. lenses, especially the antique ones that will shortly arrive with my camera. The first is a Gundlach-Manhattan Optical Company, Turner-Reich, and Anastigmat 6 1/2 x 8 1/2. The second is an Ilex Anastigmat 7 1/2. I've enjoyed reading about the history of Gundlach but haven't found a table that can show me what the sizes of the lenses are in a way that I'm familiar with. I'm assuming they would be considered wide angle for 5x7 but don't know since I have yet to understand what the 6 1/2 x 8 1/2 relates to. I believe that represents an area of image coverage but I'm just not sure. Any information would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance &
Best Regards,
Dan Cordle

Jim Noel
19-Dec-2007, 13:00
6 1/2 x 8 1/2 refers to a full plate camera. In other words, the image area it will cover is 1 1/2 inches larger on each dimension than 5x7.
The lens is most likely a "normal" focal length for full plate. It thus will have a lot of coverage for movements on 5x7. I suspect the focal length is somewhere in the vicinity of 10", or 254 mm.
The 7 1/2" lens is just shorter than "normal" on 5x7. It woould not be considered wide angle, even though it is slightly wide. About like 45mm on a s5mm camera.
When the camera arrives, have fun focusing the lenses on various subjects at various distances to see what the view is like before you even think about film.

Welcome to LF.

dancordle
19-Dec-2007, 13:16
Thanks, Jim for your generous reply!

Vick Vickery
19-Dec-2007, 14:08