PDA

View Full Version : Hello Large Format

Thomas Bertilsson
15-Dec-2007, 22:39
...or something resembling of that. 4x5 and 5x7 almost seems like small format these days when your hear about folks doing 16x20 collodions...
Anyway, I've been favoring my medium format cameras for a long time now, and I will of course continue to use them, but I have a brand new Osaka 4x5 rig with a couple of nice lenses, and just recently acquired an old Century No 2 with a wonderful Voigtlander Heliar 240mm lens that I plan on using for portrait/figure work.

The type of information I'm seeking is how to use the LF gear better and more efficiently, especially in processing film. I've tried a few methods with developing film and found I get my best results with a slosher tray and a dark green safelight to develop by inspection. It's just not very efficient. I think I have almost 100 sheets just lying around, waiting to be developed...

Anyway, I've been shooting 4x5 for about two years, and been serious about photography for about six years. I'd like to learn better ways with my sheet film cameras so that I'm drawn to them, as opposed to looking at them like they're a wonderful format but that's a pain in the neck when it comes to film processing, dust, time to set up, etc.

Hope to partake in some good discussions here.

- Thomas

Kirk Gittings
15-Dec-2007, 22:57
Welcome. The first thing to do is some searches around issues that you have. As an archive this site is amazing going back many years.

riooso
15-Dec-2007, 23:14
Welcome. You will find some people here with an unbelievable amount of knowledge and very generous with their time. Enjoy the journey!

Richard

Ralph Barker
15-Dec-2007, 23:23
Welcome, Thomas.

davidb
15-Dec-2007, 23:26
Well, hell.

I'll be the fourth New Mexican in a row to welcome you.

Hello and Happy Holidays.

David Karp
15-Dec-2007, 23:43
Well, sorry to break up the N.M. streak! Welcome from California. This is a nice virtual place to visit regularly.