PDA

View Full Version : Imagine a lens similar to Super Symmar XL 300mm f8, what will it like? how much?

james zhou
4-Dec-2007, 13:12
I bet many who shoot format larger than 8x10 would like to have a wide angle lens similar to the SSXL series with superior color rendition and definition. I don't think Schneider is making one even though there is a clear gap in its lens line up. Such a lens would cover 16x20 with 6 inch shift (enough to cover 20x24), with size similar to the 210mm SSXL. If such a lens becomes available in the near future, what is your vision of such a lens? How much would you pay for it? I am new to ULF so I am throwing some wild idea here. I have a 12 inch metrogon f/6.3. I am planning on building a 16x20 camera that can use this lens.

james

Eric Leppanen
4-Dec-2007, 14:01
Some time back there was a group special order for the 300mm Sironar W (500mm rated image circle). I have no idea whether any lenses from that order are still available. A used copy usually crops up on Ebay maybe once a year. See:

http://www.badgergraphic.com/store/cart.php?m=product_detail&p=2024

My vague recollection is that it covers 16x20 but I can't swear to it.

Jim Galli
4-Dec-2007, 14:13
The problem you face is that 1114, 717, 8X20 and even 14X17, 12X20 can be serviced by production graphic arts lenses for a fraction of what the lens you describe would cost. That leaves your only market as folks with 16X20 and larger cameras. That's just a handful of people literally. I'm thinking of the f9 Computar 305, and the Konica GRII 310mm lenses. Both modern coated lenses. 355 G-Claron is common and not enough different in angle that someone would not chose it for $900 instead ot a 300XL for $5800. Of course there are X number of Dr. lawyer indian chief that would have to have it if Schneider made it but.......they might sell out a run of 30 eventually?

Peter K
4-Dec-2007, 15:06