PDA

View Full Version : Any advise on 600mm folders

otzi
27-Nov-2007, 06:45
A search has revealed 3 folding cameras that allow for a 600mm lens. One may not want to but I wonder if such a camera ,that can entertain a massive lens at full extension , may also be more robust and firmer at intermediate focusing distances.

Layton L-45A 65-617
Lotus rapid 85-600
Canham Traditional 76-660

Can anyone shed any light on these cameras, apart from their prices.

Ted Harris
27-Nov-2007, 07:58
I have been using a Canham for many years and it is very rigid at more modest extensions. I expect the Lotus is the same. The Layton is only a prototype, none have been manufactured and no indication when any will be available.

Allen Rumme
27-Nov-2007, 08:25
I routinely use a 24" Artar in a #3 Copal shutter on my Canham traditional 4x5/5x7. This lens and shutter combination weights quite a bit, but it is usable on the Canham. I just have to be very careful when moving the front bed extension & standard. Wind is also very much an issue with that much bellows extension.

vinny
27-Nov-2007, 08:29
Don't forget Wehman I use a 600mm fujinon on mine.

Eric Leppanen
27-Nov-2007, 13:40
Also the Ebony SV45U2 will support a 600mm lens at infinity, particularly if an extended lens board is used. I had SK Grimes build a two inch extended lens board which allowed enough bellows slack for a reasonable amount of rise/tilt/swing with my Fuji 600C lens focused at or near infinity. Without the extended lens board, infinity focus was possible but movements were too limited to be useful.