PDA

View Full Version : Sinar vs Linhof vs Arca-Swiss

Alpa
24-Nov-2007, 12:16
Hello, my name is Robert, I'm a new member.

What I really want to know is which brand makes the finest quality cameras?

I want it for landscapes and portraits. I am wanting a very sturdy camera ...so I am not so concerned about the extra weight of the AS Monoliths over the F models.

I am particularly interested in the Sinar P3 / Arca-Swiss Monolith 6X9 / Linhof 679cs for digital photography -- which one is the best overall?

Sorry to sound a bit naive -- I am new to LF view cameras, I have used Hasselblads for years but have wanted a view camera for a long time now.

I would really appreciate your opinions :)

Ken Lee
24-Nov-2007, 12:38
"finest quality" is s subjective term. So is "digital photography".

All of the manufacturers you mention, produce equipment of superb fit and finish. No matter which camera you get from them, you will be pleased with the high standard of workmanship.

Perhaps you are looking for other attributes, like weight, size, strength, adaptability, portability, usability, affordability, availability, repairability, etc.

If that is the case, then you probably need to tell us how, and for what, you intend to use the camera.

Alpa
24-Nov-2007, 19:58
Thank you for your post Ken :)

I have my heart set on the Arca-Swiss, that is the camera I really love, its build quality is fantastic. I guess I just would like some opinions on Linhof and Sinar before I finally decide.

I am wanting quite a versatile camera, but it will likely be used in a studio mostly for portraiture.

Frank Petronio
24-Nov-2007, 20:22