PDA

View Full Version : 4x5 and fingerprints

asphoto
13-Nov-2007, 20:27
I am fairly new to large format and I can't seem to be able to shake getting fingerprints on my negatives while printing - even with the use of cotton gloves. This is starting to become more annoying as time passes and I was wondering if anyone knows if rubber or latex gloves is okay to handle negatives? or can it scratch or be harmful?

Thanks

Kevin Crisp
13-Nov-2007, 20:50
Most of us handle them by the edges. By that, I mean not between thumb and finger like you'd pick up a pancake off a plate but on edge, spanning the palm. All you ever really touch is the edge on each side of the negative. I honestly can't remember ever getting a finger print on a negative. If you need gloves to avoid putting fingerprints on them then I think you need to change the way you handle them. You can process them, rinse them, hang them up, put them in protective sleeves, take them out, dust them off with a brush, put them in the negative holder, and enlarge them (or contact print them) all without touching anything but the sides.

asphoto
13-Nov-2007, 21:29
i know...and believe me i have tried. but i still can't seem to get the hang of it. i suppose i will after more time...getting the sheets in and out of the holders is the main problem...but i should get better at that, i hope!

Kevin Crisp
13-Nov-2007, 21:50
If your fingers are clean and reasonably dry during loading then there shouldn't be any fingerprints showing up after processing. If your fingers are really moist and you grip the emulsion side firmly (not necessary) you can disturb the emulsion enough to leave a line pattern that will still be there after processing, but this is hard to do

asphoto
13-Nov-2007, 22:29
they are and that is what i figures...i was also wondering about during printing.