PDA

View Full Version : Any idea what caused these lines on my negative?

Mark McCarvill
6-Nov-2007, 19:06
I tube-developed this T-MAX 400 negative (http://www.stepwise.ca/Lines.jpg) for 22 min in Pyrocat-HD 1:2:200, agitating 30 sec to start and 10 sec at 11 min. I've used this technique with success many times with my home-made tubes; this is the first time I've gotten these lines (and they’re on the negative, not just the scan).

Rick Floyd
6-Nov-2007, 21:38
Mark:

I'm no expert; however, I've seen similar lines due to a weak fixer in simple tank development over the years with old D-76. The last time it happened to me I just happened to catch it before the wash and after replenishing the fixer the lines went away. Great composition and worth a second shoot if possible, imho.

RF

Jorge Gasteazoro
7-Nov-2007, 00:38
Before I got the Jobo I did some tube development before I settled on brush development. When I saw line like this it was due to a couple of things. One, the tube was contaminated with fixer or the developer was hotter than the water bath. But they were not as evenly spaced and regular as your example. I get the feeling the film got stressed when you got it out of the tube.

Mark McCarvill
7-Nov-2007, 08:09
Thanks for the ideas.

Yes, I did notice that my fixer is a bit old, so I was planning to make some fresh stuff.

And I may have splashed some hot water on the tube when I gave it a quick rinse after it came out of the fixing container, as I regulated the water temperature. I had replaced the cap on the tube, so the negative didn’t get the hot water directly, but maybe the temperature rise was enough to stress it. In any case, I'll be more careful with this from now on.

And thanks for the kind words, Rick. What I posted was a crop. Valuable to know it can work as-is! Here's the full frame. (http://www.stepwise.ca/Lines_full.jpg)

scott_6029
7-Nov-2007, 08:20