PDA

View Full Version : Jordan says Hi!

ThinkBox
5-Nov-2007, 23:30
Hey Guys,
I stumbled across this site while researching the Toyo-View 45CF camera. I Have been doing digital photography for years and I am now picking up a photo minor in college. I have spent my first semester in the darkroom exploring the farthest reaches of my imagination. It has been an incredible eye-opening experience for me! I envisioned I would detest the darkroom's meticulous nature and the comparative time vs photoshop/digital distribution. I was wrong. I am completely in love with the dark room, it has expanded my creative process farther than I ever imagined before, and it also happens to help to have a complete and utter genius of a teacher (he worked with Ansel Adams for years and years).

I have had such a good experience that I really want to take things to the next level with a large format camera, while I am very well versed in the concepts and ideas of photography, I have no experience with Large Format photography, so, I plan on buying one very very soon so I can get some practice on it before I take a trip to Rome and Florence for Christmas (on which I plan on taking my LFcamera). I have talked to many people about the feasibility of this, along with film transportation issues, but I would love to dig myself into this community you have here for more detailed feedback, your own experience, and also as an artistic outlet with other like-minded photography enthusiasts.

I look forward to learning from all of you, and then sharing my work.
Sincerely,
Jordan.

SamReeves
6-Nov-2007, 07:50
Welcome. :)

Ralph Barker
6-Nov-2007, 07:55
Welcome to LF, Jordan.

Scott Davis
6-Nov-2007, 08:03
Welcome to LF, you're down the rabbit hole now! Don't even think about taking the blue pill.

Pat Kearns
6-Nov-2007, 10:06