PDA

View Full Version : Macro lenses

argos33
5-Nov-2007, 10:53
Hi,
I am fairly new to LF photography, and was wondering if any of you could recommend some good lenses for close-up work. I have a cambo 8x10 and the 300mm Schneider Xenar that came with it can only do about a 1:1 ratio.

What exactly makes some lenses more "macro" than others?

Are macro lenses for 8x10 hard to find and/or really expensive?

I would be using it mainly for cave photography, so a barrel lens would even work ok, since I usually just open the shutter, light the passage/formation and then close it again. A friend of mine has used magnifying glasses with a MF camera to get pretty good results, but I am somewhat skeptical of the quality. Has anyone doing close-up work experimented with this?

Does anybody have an 8x10 macro lens they want to sell?

Thanks,
Evan

Bob Salomon
5-Nov-2007, 11:27
The 120 and 180mm Apo Macro Sironar lenses are corrected for 1:5 to 2:1 and at 1:1 with 8x10 have a coverage of 415mm with the 180 and 277mm with the 120mm.

Naturally, being macro lenses, there performance at infinity is not very good. But then lenses corrected for infinity would not perform nearly as well as these for macro. Especially if there is important information at the edges.

Dan Fromm
5-Nov-2007, 11:58
Interesting that you intend to expose your 8x10 camera to mud and water.

Are you serious about wanting to shoot 8x10 at magnifications > 1:1? I ask because the extension needed to get magnification m is f * (1 + m). With a lens of any length at all, you'll need considerable extension to get to 1:1, let alone above.