PDA

View Full Version : Film storage question.

rod454
3-Nov-2007, 21:43
What is best way to store an opened box of film. Should it be put back in the fridge? IF new film that has been frozen is bought and not opened, can it be put back in the freezer? Any comments here would be welcomed. I am new to this sheet film business. I loaded 4x5 holders last night for the first time. So I let you know how green I am. I've been shooting polaroids.

I have enjoyed reading this forum. So much knowledge here. Is truly a marvel.

Thanks, rod

rippo
3-Nov-2007, 22:35
you can put film back in the fridge or freezer, even after it's opened. however you should put the box in a ziploc bag as well, to keep condensation from forming as the temperature changes. my personal experience has been with opened and unopened boxes in the fridge, and only unopened in the freezer...only because all my sheet film fits nicely in the fridge, whereas some of my (sealed, unopened) roll film gets stuck in the freezer. so the only thing i don't have direct experience with is opened sheet film boxes, put in the freezer.

RDKirk
4-Nov-2007, 09:18
Don't obsess over it.

Cold storage is long-term storage. If you're going to use it within the year, just keeping it at normal human-comfort temperatures is okay. The expiration date on the film presumes human-comfort temperatures.

Same thing when travelling--you don't have to keep it on ice or anything. Just keep it comfortable where you're comfortable.

Avoid huge swings like pulling it into and out of the refrigerator unless you've got it in a ziplock bag.

rod454
4-Nov-2007, 13:06
I post another question in this thread. Would frozen film with expiration of 1999 still be a good purchase? I have no idea :) Film is velvia.

thanks,
rod

Sanjay Sen
4-Nov-2007, 14:15
I keep opened and unopened sheet film boxes in the freezer, without a ziploc bag and have had no problem so far. When I have to load film, I usually take the box out a few hours before.