PDA

View Full Version : B/W Inkjet image quality?

Ron Marshall
2-Nov-2007, 23:57
I have been printing on an Epson 2200 for two years using Cone septone B/W inks, and am very satisfied with the image quality.

I have not tried printing B/W images using Epson inks on either matt or glossy papers.

How good is the B/W output from Epson K3 printers, and is image quality better with matt or glossy papers.

This is obviously a subjective and somewhat ambiguous question, but I think many people here know how a good print should look, and so hopefully can give me their impressions.

I will take a B/W file into Calumet to have them print it for me. That, and the other demo images they probably will have on hand will help, but I would appreciate the opinion of others here that have seen many images.

jetcode
3-Nov-2007, 04:51
I have 2 2200's, one with Septone inks; there is a difference. The B/W inks are better in my opinion because they can be viewed at any angle without artifacts like metamerism.

Ed Richards
3-Nov-2007, 05:50
I use an Epson 3800 in the advanced black and white mode (AWB) or with Imageprint, depending on the paper. Using good mat papers like PhotoRag, or the new fiber gloss papers - Harman Glossy FB or Innova Glossy - the prints are neutral and there are virtually no artifacts. It is not just the inks, the 3800 has an improved dither pattern and I think the AWB does some additional tricks. What I really like is that it is very linear so I do not need to soft-proof as much. I can no longer see any need for 3rd party inks. The only thing that could improve a very few prints would be the HP Z series printer's automatic clear coat for unprinted areas.

Ted Harris
3-Nov-2007, 06:47
Ron,