PDA

View Full Version : Jobo Expert drums: do the chems get the back?

Nicolai Morrisson
1-Nov-2007, 14:36
I'm just getting started in 8x10 and don't have darkroom access, so I'm looking at the Jobo Expert drums. Does the chemistry get to the back of the sheet, or is the film pressed tightly enough against the inside of the tubes that none gets there?

I once tried processing 4x5 back-to-back, and while the emulsion side developed without issue, the backs stuck together, didn't let chemistry in, and I had to wash the anti-halation dye out at the end. I'm wondering if I'm going to have the same problem with the Jobo.

Thanks!

Shailendra
1-Nov-2007, 14:56
I just got into 8x10 photography and processed my first few rolls on a Jobo 3005 tank. I had consistent processing but used about 10% more fluid than suggested. I think you should have no problems with the Jobo Expert Drums.

Ron Marshall
1-Nov-2007, 15:19
It does get to the back. The Jobo is a good design and can easily and consistently be hand-rolled.

SamReeves
1-Nov-2007, 15:54
Agreed. Really excellent, but I add 20% more just to be on the safe side. Should a catastrophic life problem happen. ;)

Oren Grad
1-Nov-2007, 16:17
The chemistry does get to the back. I was told once by a Jobo rep that the wells aren't simple cylinders, but have a subtle barrel shape that facilitates circulation. I've never tried verifying that, but I've used Expert drums for many processing runs on a CPA-2 over 10 years, and the film bases have cleared perfectly every time.

Deane Johnson
1-Nov-2007, 17:09
Why does the chemistry need to get to the back?

Jan Pedersen
1-Nov-2007, 17:20
The fixer need to get to the back to clear the negative and that is a constant problem for me. I have used 50% more chemistry than called fore but still need to clear the film in a tray. Not that exited about the Expert drum (3005).

tim atherton
1-Nov-2007, 17:24