PDA

View Full Version : software for palm pilots etc.....

tom bowen
31-Oct-2000, 22:34
i would like to know if anyone has tried any of the free software you can downlo ad into your palm pilot or similar device. what i am particularly interested in things that will help with large format photography. dof, exposure corrections for extensions and some of the tilt and shift computations. would also be nice it you could use it to log and track exposures.

thanks

Chris Partti
1-Nov-2000, 01:34
I've been using Photo Logger for several months, and I think it's really neat. The program allows you to store a number of camera and lens characteristics as well as types of film with reciprocity tables. For each shot you can then enter a description of the shot, the film holder number, specify the "settings" (camera, lens, film, filters, bellows extension), enter the holder number, and the meter- calculated aperture and exposure time. The program re-calculates exposure time, taking into account bellows factor, filter factors, and any reciprocity correction for the specified film. You can also record two EV readings and place them in zones (based on your exposure and planned development) and it will calculate the zone in which up to five additional readings will fall. You can also enter notes (e.g., development plan). At your request, the program logs all of this information as a memo in a special folder, which, of course, you can hotsynch into your PC. You can add additional notes (e.g., on development, printing, etc) later. The software is not free, but quite cheap (about $15). I think it's a great deal, as it has most everything I need and is easy to use.

I also have Vade Mecum, but I don't use it much. It is basically a collection of optical equations that are not particularly useful in my own photography. Others may find it useful, however, and it's free.

J.L. Kennedy
1-Nov-2000, 05:36
Where do you get Photo Logger?

Larry Huppert
1-Nov-2000, 10:46