PDA

View Full Version : Why Velvia 50 was and is so well liked?

Wanderon
13-Oct-2007, 17:19
I'm new to film so to speak in the realm of 4x5, I have used film in my 35mm camera but not the low ISO 50. Why is it that many of you like this film. I know that it is a slower film but what can it do that the 100 wouldn't do, is it the grain factor, or what? I'm wanting to try some out to see but would like some thought from you folks first. I'd like to know what type of shooting you mostly do with it. Is the new better than the older film?
Ralph

Walter Calahan
13-Oct-2007, 18:06
The way it captures color and contrast, as well as the fine grain.

Gary Tarbert
13-Oct-2007, 18:09
If you have to ask you definitley havn't used it,grain factor is not the reason colour pallette is,and no the new is not on first viewing (only exsposed 6 sheets so no critical
comparisons made yet)any better:) .cheers Gary

Bill_1856
13-Oct-2007, 18:39
Velvia is very useful in hiding mediocre images behind a kaleidoscope of colors.

nicol_verheem
13-Oct-2007, 18:45
A film salesman once told me about a university study on "human color memory". Basically if you are shown a color swatch, and asked 10 minutes later to pick it out of 1000 similar swatches, you'll be close. An hour later, statistically eveyone pick something 10% more saturated. 24h later, everyone picks something 20% more saturated. So basically human memory remembers color more staurated than it was.

So Fuji (especially Velvia) aims to mimick how you'll remember the scene, not how it looks. Cool story at least.

I like shooting provia and velvia of the same scene, scan the provia, and adjust in CS2 until it resembles the velvia on a light box. I find the velvia too hard to scan with a low dmax scanner like mine.

rippo
13-Oct-2007, 18:50