PDA

View Full Version : Converting film holders for glass negatives

dwross
10-Oct-2007, 06:41
Hi All,

I'm a long time LF photographer, new to this forum. I've sneaked many a peak because this seems to be about the best source of photography information on the internet, LF and otherwise. I've finally signed on officially.

Question: I'm converting old wooden framed 5x7 film holders for glass plates. (I'm a self-employed emulsion researcher). So far the task seems too easy, which is my cue I'm probably missing something. Can anyone point out the gotchas? Any info would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Geert
10-Oct-2007, 07:10
I hope you take into account that the placement of the emulsion will be further inside the camera than with film... adjust the position of the groundglass likewise!

This will require you to modify the groundglass holder. The position of the groundglass must be shifted inwards the camera by the thickness of the glass plates (+ emulsion?) you will use.

This could become a very difficult operation, depending on what type of camera you have.

Greetings and welcome,
G

dwross
10-Oct-2007, 07:58
Geert,

Thank you very much for the heads-up. That issue had not yet even entered my mind.

d

Scott Davis
10-Oct-2007, 08:13
Actually, it depends very much on HOW you modify the film holder. I think Geert's advice is assuming that you in actual fact don't modify the film holder. You can modify film holders to take a SINGLE glass plate at a time, by cutting the septum, and installing silver wire (silver, to keep it non-reactive to the emulsion) across the corners of the cutout to retain the glass plate. This will alleviate the need to modify the ground glass position.

Antonio Corcuera
10-Oct-2007, 09:43
DWRoss,
I have some old Kodak 5x7 plate holders, no need to modify. PM me if you're interested.

Kirk Keyes
10-Oct-2007, 12:58
Denise -

Try this link: