PDA

View Full Version : How many sheets of the same composition

Renato Tonelli
3-Oct-2007, 09:33
How many sheets of film of the same composition do you shoot at the same f/stop, same shutter speed. I shoot two sheets. Too many times I would discover spots where it is most difficult to get rid of (sky area). Now, of course, none of the negatives show any spots - Murphy's Law in reverse.
Just curious as to your shooting habits.

Keith Pitman
3-Oct-2007, 09:35
One.

Patrik Roseen
3-Oct-2007, 09:45
I am an amateur and only need to satisfy myself, so I shoot just one frame.

However, if I am photographing for someone else I will do several of the same subject, but with different position, time, aperture etc. That way I can present more than one successful unique photograph.

Aender Brepsom
3-Oct-2007, 10:17
I just shoot one. It is expensive enough.
If I do shoot a second one, it is with a slightly different exposure, and only in difficult situations.

If have not had any problems with spots as I only use Quickloads.
After the processing, my slides are scanned, and a dust spot could easily be removed in PS.

What I do sometimes is shoot the same scene on 4x5 and on 6x9cm, using a shorter lens for 6x9, in order to keep the composition (almost) identical.

Ralph Barker
3-Oct-2007, 10:26
For far-away places, usually two - that way I have a backup neg should one get damaged. I feel the cost of the extra sheet of film is small compared to the expense of getting there.

Daniel_Buck
3-Oct-2007, 10:29
just one for me. I suppose if I went somewhere far away that I wouldn't get a practical chance to go to again, I might take a few extra exposures.

Quite often, I'll take another exposure with a slightly different composition (usually a vertical, and a horizontal) but not for the purpose of a 'backup', just for a different take on the subject.

Bruce Watson
3-Oct-2007, 10:46