PDA

View Full Version : Focusing LF cameras

Steve Springer
3-Aug-1998, 08:44
I am new to the LF cameras and have recently purchased a Toyo 45C. I have many q uestions that I sure will be answered during the use of the 4x5 but at present I am having problems focusing with such a dim image on the ground glass. I have a Ziess 150mm, f3.5 lenses set in a Compur shutter, very old lenses but is clear and scratch free. My question is, are there other types of glass that will give off a brighter image than the stock ground glass back with the grid, 6x7 & 6x9 format lines??? Any help would be appreciated...

Thanks Steve Springer Manufacturing Engineering Composites Manufacturing steve.springer@Wichita.Boeing.com 316-526-2228

Alan Gibson
3-Aug-1998, 12:09
You shouldn't have problems with such a large aperture lens, assuming you are fo cusing wide open, of course. Are you using a focusing cloth? And a loupe? The cl oth will make a huge difference. A fresnel lens can also be used in conjunction with the GG, but will make a much smaller difference, and has its own disadvanta ges (brighter image, but harder to focus).

Ellis Vener
3-Aug-1998, 13:59