PDA

View Full Version : As expected: another LF newbie :)

Mikuda
17-Sep-2007, 07:31
First, hello all on this forum! I'm Mikolaj and I want to start the journey into large format (it won't be so soon though)
Seems that's the largest LF forum so it' best source for kind information :)
Please read my below observations and questions patiently and point any mistakes or add suggestions and answers :)

I'm not a professional photographer, but I'd descirbe myself as experienced enthusiast.. I hope.. ;)
I worked a lot of years with 35mm and lately in 6x6 MF with lovely hasselblad.
MF will remain as my main tool forever I think, but Large format offers amazing learning and skills perfecting possibilities. It's very "exacting" and forces
to think and work a lot BEFORE even taking a photo, and that's what I may like. I also love to work in full analog way which includes wet-darkroom too.

Don't worry! To avoid asking typical question "what camera should I choose" I did a lot of reading, digging and researching on my own. And now I'll precise what I already know:
You won't be surprised that my bet (for now) is 4x5 Tachihara - either new or used.
Why?
FIRST is use: I'm mostly interested in ladscape, people and portrait. Landscape includes buildings and architecture but more in artistic way, not in strictly technical and "architectural" way that would require high precision monorail.
Sure, studio still-life and commercial photography work is also interesting for me but good stable and heavy monorail may wait.
SECOND, size and weight: I like photo trips on my bicycle or by foot, and even when I go somewhere with a car, I'm walking a lot of kilometers away from parking place - this also excludes monorail.
THIRD, from my research: Tachihara (and other similar cameras) still have a lot of movements which cover most of LF needs, and that will allow me to learn large format technique.
FOURTH is simple: It's nice looking and quite affordable for me :)

NOW it's time for questions!