PDA

View Full Version : Help with a Linhof Technica?

christopherearle
16-Sep-2007, 10:19
I'm brand new to large format photography. I've recently gained access to a Linhof Technica 4x5 (not sure of the exact model) that seems to be in very good condition, although I'm still checking the bellows for light leaks.

I've figured out how to open it, hot to open the shutter to see an image on the ground glass, but I can't seem to figure FOCUSING out. Does anyone know of any "Linhof Operation for Complete Idiots" guides on the 'net? If I can figure out how to focus it, I'm planning on USING it on occasion :-) (I may shoot digital for convenience, but I STILL prefer a MF neg, and can only imagine that I'll soon start prefering 4x5).

David A. Goldfarb
16-Sep-2007, 10:32
Just to focus it in a basic way without applying any camera movements?

Squeeze the two levers on the front of the front standard to pull it out and onto the focusing rails. If there is a set of infinity stops for your lens on the rail, flip up the stops and slide the standard to the infinity stops.

Press the button on the back to open the folding hood.

Set the lens to the maximum aperture, and if the shutter has a button or lever to open it for focusing, open the shutter. Otherwise, set it on "T" and trigger the shutter to open it (you may or may not need to cock the shutter before using it on T. If it is a Compound shutter with a dial on top for the shutter speeds DO NOT cock the shutter while it is set on T--just press the trigger).