PDA

View Full Version : Master Technika Lens Standard Question

Arne Norris
15-Sep-2007, 10:03
Sorry for all of the seemingly simple questions lately about Technikas, but I'm new to using one, and I haven't been able to find a PDF of an owners manual for a Master Technika online. I guess it's time to buy own!

My question is this:

Is the swing on the lens standard designed to lock in place when it is swung in/out?

When I turn the lever forward the lens standard can be swung just fine, and if I turn the lever back slightly and move the standard back into normal position the standard clicks back into being locked in the normal position.

But there doesn't seem to be any provision to lock down the standard tightly when swung. (Compared to the lens standard shift that locks and unlocks in any position.) I've cleaned and lubicated the mechanism and there doesn't seem to be anything broken. Does the front standard just rely on friction to hold the swing movement in place?

Also is the current owners manual helpful enough to buy, or is there some other source of information that people have found thorough and helpful?

Brian Ellis
15-Sep-2007, 10:44
The Master Technika owner's manual is very throrough, one of the very few LF camera manuals that justifiably is called a "manual." Most come with no instructions at all or just a couple pages. Tuan has posted a Tech IV manual on this site, in the camera review section under "Linhof." You could probably get by with that since there are very few operational differences between the IV and the Master but with such a fine camera why not spend $15 or so and get the right one?

As to your first question, I don't remember my Master Technika well enough to tell you how to lock it down but I don't think front swing relies on friction to be held in place. Maybe the Tech IV manual mentioned above would help.

Scott Sharp
15-Sep-2007, 15:58