PDA

View Full Version : A Curious Thing - Lens-hack Question

nelsonfotodotcom
7-Sep-2007, 15:37
SO, I purchased a JML 6.5" f/8 from Don Bryant. It's a nice chunk of metal and glass, holding it now having received it moments ago in the post.

I'm eyeballing this thing, opening and closing the diaphragm, when the question pops into my head: Wide open, there's still a lot of opening to be had... is it possible to have a lens like this tweaked to open beyond f/8? If not, why not? What is prohibitive? I'm even thinking it might be fun to yank the diaphragm out of it altogether....

Now, I'm new to the LF lens racket, so pardon me if this is an elementary issue and one which might draw a roaring "STUPID!" from many, but I figured I would ask. I've picked up quite a bit thus far just by reading these forums, so, hoping to learn another thing or two about a thing or two.

Danke!

C.

Dan Fromm
7-Sep-2007, 17:06
Craig, manufacturers usually limit apertures to protect users from themselves and to preserve their reputations. It is often the case that forcing a larger aperture than the manufacturer intended just kills image quality far off axis. But since your lens more than covers 4x5 and you're shooting 4x5 this may not be a major problem.

In other words, since you own the lens now there's no reason why you shouldn't remove the diaphragm or break it (or maybe not) trying to get it to open wider.

nelsonfotodotcom
7-Sep-2007, 17:09
Dan, howdy!

I've got a query into Grimes' crew to see what it would cost me to have mounted in shutter or at least to have it placed in a decent board for its size and weight. I'm not the least bit mechanically inclined, so the hacking would not take place by my hands, but at some point it might be interesting to have it altered, if possible, to see what happens.

Thanks for the input. Seems on par with Rick Oleson's advice over on my board.

Best,
Craig

nelsonfotodotcom
7-Sep-2007, 17:12