PDA

View Full Version : Difference between LF and MF ?

Adriane M. Morgan
22-Jul-1998, 18:28
I am new to large format photography and I have been researching cameras and such -- is medium format about the same as large format with just a smaller negative than the 8X10 and other forms of larger formated cameras?

QT Luong
22-Jul-1998, 18:50
Medium format cameras use roll-film which is 6cm wide so that the format available on those cameras are (all in cm) 4.5x6, 6x6, 6x7,6x9,6x12,6x17. Therefore they produce image whose size is less than that produced by large format cameras (hence the name). The vast majority of medium format cameras operate a bit like 35mm cameras ("small format") and in particular don't have LF features such as Flexible bellows, Ground glass viewing, Interchangeable mount lenses. However, a few medium format cameras share these features, and are also considered on this web site, since they actually operate like large format cameras. On the other hand, with almost all the large format cameras it is possible to use roll-film holders of various sizes and to therefore produce medium-format images.

Ellis Vener
22-Jul-1998, 22:32