PDA

View Full Version : mercury sulfide toner

paulr
2-Sep-2007, 15:57
has anyone used a mercury / sulfide toner for toning b+w prints? or seen the results?

i've been told by a couple of old timers that they produced some of the most beautiful warm tones they'd ever seen.

and i've been warned by a couple of chemists to not even think about mixing it or using it, due to the lethality and environmental toxicity of the mercury compounds.

so i've been sitting on the formula for over ten years without having my curiosity satisfied.

Walter Calahan
2-Sep-2007, 17:27
Leave you curiosity unsatisfied.

Mercury and your brain don't go together. Not to mention the environment downstream from your drain.

Jason Greenberg Motamedi
2-Sep-2007, 21:18
First things first: Do I think the effort a worthwhile risk to self and environment? No.

As far as mercury salts go, mercuric sulfide (aka: cinnabar) is one of the easier to handle. Of course, it will melt your neurons like most other mercury compounds if you touch or inhale it, and does incredible damage to the unborn. Still, it isn't methyl mercury...

So, you need a lab-grade fume hood sucking 100 fpm, good elbow length gloves, eye protection, and lots of care to use it safely. The worst part however will be disposing of the leftovers responsibly. I don't know how to do so, but here is the EPA's page on mercury: http://www.epa.gov/mercury/index.htm

Steven Barall
3-Sep-2007, 09:16
Brooklyn is polluted enough. If you want to do that move to Jersey.

paulr
3-Sep-2007, 09:33
haha. i have NO plans to buy, mix, or use the stuff. just curious to know if anyone else has. my curiosity will be satisfied by a nice, vivid description by someone who's seen the results with their own eyes.