PDA

View Full Version : Help with film choice

Brad Bireley
1-Sep-2007, 08:37
I'm new to large format. I have a B&J 4x5 press with a Kodak Ektar 127mm 4.7 on it. I planning on shooting the fall colors here in North Central PA in a 3-4 weeks. I was thinking about print film versus slide because of the latitude. I will shooting longer exposures of streams. I was thinking about fuji Pro 160S.
There is a good deal on ebay
http://cgi.ebay.com/Fuji-Professional-Pro-160S-4-X-5-X-50-04-2007_W0QQitemZ300145994187QQihZ020QQcategoryZ4204QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

Any opinions from anyone?
Thanks in advance,
Brad

Ron Marshall
1-Sep-2007, 09:42
Fuji Pro 160 is a wonderful film and also scans well. Good exposure latitude and good color saturation.

65Galaxie
1-Sep-2007, 16:01
I've been shooting print film for most of my life but in 4x5 mode I have only done tranparency film. I do know that my scanner (epson 2450) does a better job of scanning slides than print film if both are properly exposed. I think the reason is that the contrast has to be boosted via scanner software or photoshop and inscreasing contrast brings out some awful artifacts with print film (lines, etc. at 100 %).

What's your final output? I use Miller's lab for printing and they only develop print film and that would be a plus. They will also print print film via custom job at high dollar. I find that if I scan slide film, put it on a cd and send it to them to print on regular photo paper (or proof on my Epson printer) I have more control. I do run print film with my 120 back (Fuji 160C and 400H).

I usually buy outdated quickload films and usually pay about $35 for 20 sheets. $35 for 50 sheets is a very good price.

Brad Bireley
1-Sep-2007, 17:20