PDA

View Full Version : Best 4x5 camera for 75mm lens?

kalvino67
31-Aug-2007, 01:36
Hi all,

Well I'm brand new to LF but I have been doing some reading over the last couple of months, both here and recommended LF books.

Based on my research, a great LF camera for the 75mm -210mm lens range is the Arca Swiss Field...BUT...I can't afford it!

I am starting from scratch and with lenses, meter, tripod, film, darkroom equipment etc..the budget is rapidly diminishing and I am considering spending money on good glass.

So, which of the cameras below with a standard bellows (prefer not to change to a bag bellows) can best focus a 75mm Rodenstock Grandagon-N f4.5 at close range?

Shen Hao HZX-45 IIA
Toho
Tachihara
Wista DXIII

I'm assuming all of the above have no problems with a 210mm lens. My other lens will be a 150mm.

I will be photographing mainly landscapes (alot of coastal shots) as well as some street architecture.

One additional question...which would be easier to use in an urban environment.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Cheers,

Kalvin

Thomas Greutmann
31-Aug-2007, 02:41
I can only speak for the Wista. I am using a Wista DX (not DXIII, but they are similar) with a 65mm Schneider Super Angulon. Mostly landscapes. Focusing is no problem, but movements (especially shift and rise/fall) are limited due to the bellows. With a 75mm lens it should be better. With a 90mm the Wista works very well, enough movement. The 75mm will be somewhere in between 65 and 90.

Tachihara and Shen-Hao should work in similar ways, I guess. The cameras are somewhat similar in design.

Greetings, Thomas

Matus Kalisky
31-Aug-2007, 04:38
Hi, you will find a lot of info on the cameras you hve mentined on this forum.

I personaly use Tachihara for cca 1 year and am quite happy with it. I can not comment on 75mm lens but have heard that it should not be a problem, although recessed lens board would be probably a good idea. The bellows are quite soft.