PDA

View Full Version : Lens Help

KITESWJS
25-Aug-2007, 14:15
Hello, I have a very beginner question, I am very new to LF photography, I have never pushed a shutter release to expose film, now with that said I am in the market for a lens for my Zone VI camera. I can not make heads or tails as to what the difference is in all of the different lens I look at on eBay, like This Nikon 210 mm 5.6 Nikkor - W lens it seems priced right in my budget but what does the W stand for and how does this lens compared to lets say Schneider Symmar-S Multicoated 210mm f5.6 Large Format Lens or the RODENSTOCK SIRONAR lens are any of them better than the other or will they all suit my needs.
Thank you
Bill Slater

Sheldon N
25-Aug-2007, 14:59
You are on the right track.

Look for any of the following types of lenses - Nikkor W, Schneider Symmar-S Multicoating, Fujinon W (writing on the outside of lens barrel), or Rodenstock APO Sironar N (aka Sironar N, or Caltar II-N). Also try to get one in an all black copal shutter, since that usually indicates that it is a newer model. These will all be very sharp, very functional lenses and will be a good match for your Zone VI.

The 210mm focal length is just slightly longer than "normal" for the 4x5 format. Imagine it as roughly a 55-60mm lens for a 35mm camera. It will come in a Copal 1 sized shutter, which is slightly larger than the Copal 0 size shutter.

A good alternative to the 210mm lens would be a 150mm lens, which is roughly the equivalent of a 40-45mm lens on a 35mm camera. A 150mm or a 135mm lens is typically a more useful general purpose landscape lens than the 210mm, though all are useful. The smaller lenses have less coverage, but that shouldn't be a concern for normal shooting conditions. Again, the same brand choices apply.