PDA

View Full Version : Tachihara vs.Toyo??

Clint Hill
16-Aug-2007, 21:19
Well, I'm finally beginning my journey into 4x5 LF and I'm very excited! I've been shooting 35mm for about six years now and feel I'm ready to start using my dream format. I shoot only landscape, so I'm looking for a good landscape setup. I've narrowed it down to the Tachihara and the Toyo 45AX or 45CF but am open to others as well. Anyone have any input on the pros and cons to either of these cameras?
Thank you all for your time.

Brian Ellis
16-Aug-2007, 22:46
Eliminating the Toyo CF would be easy for me. It doesn't have back movements and I consider back tilt, and to a lesser extent back swing, to be very important. One of the most common movements you'll find, even in landscape photography, is aiming the camera up to include something like the tops of trees in the photograph, then tilting the back forward to eliminate convergance of vertical lines. With no back movements you can't do that so I wouldn't buy the CF for that reason alone regardless of its other qualities.

I've owned two Tachiharas but no Toyos though I've played around with a couple Toyo AXs. Both cameras have about the same length bellows, just shy of 13 inches I believe. The Tachihara is about two pounds lighter and costs a lot less than a Toyo AX, especially new. Neither accepts a bag bellows. The Tachihara has a very flexible bellows that will alllow you to use a lens as short as 65mm, I don't know how the AX compares in this respect. The Toyo has front shift, the Tachihara doesn't, but I've never found shift to be particularly important, I just move the tripod a little.