PDA

View Full Version : West Coast Imaging or Calypso?

Dan V
14-Aug-2007, 16:00
Before I deal with LF scans, I'm considering having a number of 6x7 cm Velvia slides Tango drum scanned.

I have no experience with either, but I've read good things about both. There's a considerable price difference in scan prices between the two.

Anyone ever compared scan results of these two labs?

paul stimac
14-Aug-2007, 16:18
http://www.jaincotech.com/
seems to be the best price/performance that I've found. I've had scans from WCi and like Jaincotech scans as much or better.... and they are a lot cheaper. They have an Creo iqsmart3 for 8x10's and if you ask I'm sure they do your 6x7's on it. You can see how this scanner compares the Tango on the scanner comparison page on this site. It's way better than the Imacons that they advertise using.

Ron Marshall
14-Aug-2007, 16:43
http://www.jaincotech.com/
seems to be the best price/performance that I've found. I've had scans from WCi and like Jaincotech scans as much or better.... and they are a lot cheaper. They have an Creo iqsmart3 for 8x10's and if you ask I'm sure they do your 6x7's on it. You can see how this scanner compares the Tango on the scanner comparison page on this site. It's way better than the Imacons that they advertise using.

Paul, would you know what they charge for a 4x5 scan on the Creo?

Hugh Sakols
14-Aug-2007, 18:10
If you send yours to West Coast Imaging, Jeff Grandy, who is represented by the Ansel Adams Gallery will probably scan your film. I just stopped by yesterday - it's a real personable place with lots of talent.

Vaughn
14-Aug-2007, 18:21
Sorry, no comparitive experience...but WCI will take good care of you and your work.

Vaughn

Harley Goldman
15-Aug-2007, 15:38
No comparisons for scanning, but have worked with both for printing. The Calypso experience was an extended nightmare, the WCI experiences were smooth and painless.

paul stimac
16-Aug-2007, 05:05