PDA

View Full Version : Half Plate/5x7 back

gari beet
11-Aug-2007, 11:37
I recently bought a 5x7 with a 5x4 back and planned to get a 5x7 back for it in the next few months. However, I have found some Half Plate holders and was wondering if they would fit a 5x7 back as I am sure reading threads stating that they are almost identical in dimension.

I plan to get a 5x7 back and fit it to a rear panel much the same as the back on it at present, I guess I can do this with a Half Plate also if the holders won't fit 5x7?

I am relatively new to LF and not really a collector so my knowledge of formats etc is rather sketchy!!

Gari

Getting H/P film is no problem in the UK so thats not an issue.

Ash
11-Aug-2007, 11:41
The Half-plate holders and 5x7 holders are interchangeable on my half plate camera. Following the logic, they should be interchangeable the other way around also.

Beware though, you may not fit 5x7 film into the half plate holders, and half plate is rare standardized.

I had to take a rasp/plane to the sides of some HP holders I bought so that they would fit correctly!

Richard Kelham
11-Aug-2007, 11:57
There are 3 formats – half-plate, 5x7inch and 13x18cm – all the holders are the same size externally (or so the theory goes), though obviously the films are different sizes so are not interchangeable.

So, yes get a 5x7 back for your camera and then you will have a choice of film sizes. But beware that very old film holders may not have the same registration as more modern ones, so make sure that the holders match the back!

Richard

Rafael Garcia
11-Aug-2007, 13:45