PDA

View Full Version : Image Circle too small?

uniB
9-Aug-2007, 14:42
Hi all, I'm new here and new to LF - so it's all a bit daunting!

I may have made a boo boo - I've just got a Ebony RSW45 and a second hand Rodenstock 55mm f4.5, I'm now worried that the image circle is too small at 163mm at f22. Is this image circle OK with the 4x5? It's on a recessed board, would it help if it were a non recessed board, will it allow for ny movement or would it be OK at a smaller aperture?

As I say, I'm new to all this so it's all seeming a bit complicated! :confused:

Oh yeah - Can I not use standard filters with this lens either, as it's so wide angle?

Thanks for any help

Ole Tjugen
9-Aug-2007, 14:48
The image circle is enough, but only just.

The image circle is the same regardless of lens board, but it increases a bit with close subjects. Think of the image circle as a cone projecting out from the back of the lens, with the tip at the aperture. when you focus on something close you rack the lens a little bit further from the film, so the cross section of the "image cone" at the film plane makes a larger circle.

Dave_B
9-Aug-2007, 16:14