PDA

View Full Version : Found Unopened Pyrocat and TF-4 Should I Use It?

Brian Bullen
8-Aug-2007, 20:51
Cleaning out a cabinet in the darkroom and way back behind some chemical bottles I found some unopened pyrocat hd and a bottle of tf-4 fixer. I'm guessing these are from 2005, so a little over 2 years old. Should I just chuck 'em or give it a go and hope for the best?

Andrew O'Neill
8-Aug-2007, 21:19
Is the pyrocat-HD a kit? Pre-mixed? If it's pre-mixed I'm sure it's no good especially solution A. Is the fixer stock solution?

Brian Bullen
8-Aug-2007, 21:28
Hey Andrew, the pyrocat is in liquid form so sounds no good, The TF-4 is stock solution and there is separation in the bottle. Whitish color on the bottom and clearer on top. I've never used TF-4 before so I'm not sure if this is normal.

Dean Cookson
8-Aug-2007, 22:08
That's normal for TF-4. It stays in solution once you dilute out 3:1 for working strength. I'd mix it up and see how long it takes to clear a piece of film.

I mixed up some from 18mos old stock this weekend and it cleared in ~15-20s.

On the pyrocat front, what's solution A mixed in? If it's glycol, I bet it's fine. If it's water, I'd be very surprised if it was still good.

Daniel_Buck
8-Aug-2007, 23:40
By coincidence, I was looking up on this the other day (about it's capacity, though). According to the Formulary, TF-4 "should not be kept for more than 12 months" in stock solution form. Not sure if this means it's lost most of it's effect by then, or if it just begins to loose it's effect after 12 months.

IanG
9-Aug-2007, 01:16
If the solution A of the Pyrocat HD is still a nice light colour it should be fine. It goes reddish brown, then brown if the Pyrocatechin has oxidised.

Brian Bullen
9-Aug-2007, 19:36