PDA

View Full Version : Acadia national park

tax888
7-Aug-2007, 16:50
I am planning a LF photo trip to Acadia national park and need help from someone has visited there.

Question One:

What is the best time to go there? Is it early October OK for the autumn-colored foliage? Or, it is too cold to go there? Any snow during that time?

Question two:

How many days do I need to stay there in order to visit all the spots? A week is OK?

Question three:

Where can I order Tmax 100 Readyload BW films?

I am very new to the LF and have learned a lot from here. Thanks you in advance.

Louie Powell
7-Aug-2007, 17:10
1. Early October would probably be OK, but you should understand that the color changes happens when nature says it should happen, and not according to any hard schedule. Seasonal rainfall, sunlight, and temperature are all factors, and case the timing to vary from one year to the next. The ideal arrangement would be to have the flexibility to adjust your schedule based on actual reports of what is happening this year, and then make contact with someone in the area who can send you a report every few days. That way, you can time your arrival for the best color. Also, you should understand that a patch of bad weather (rain and wind) can transform beautifully colored trees into bare twigs with lots of leaves on the ground in a matter of hours.

2. How much time do you think you will need? How may "spots" do you intend to cover, and what do you expect to do in each one? You could spend a month there, or you could pretty much cover everything you want in a few hours. If the weather conditions are perfect, I would think that you would want a minimum of 2-3 days Several years ago, my wife and I were there for a day and did pretty much everything that we wanted to do.