PDA

View Full Version : Got a questioni...........

spb854
2-Aug-2007, 17:50
I have a question..............

But first...............

I am a newbie to large format photography. I recently won a bid for a Pacemaker Speed Graphic camera identical to this one, but the lens was NOT included with the camera. This camera has both a focal plane shutter in the BACK and a switch for the FRONT which operates the lens shutter, from my understanding.

So....I bid on the following lens and won it off eBay. It's probably a crappy lens, but the guy I bought it from is a retired camera repairman and stated that he had cleaned and lubed the shutter and that the lens was in very good condition.

Looking at the instruction manual that I downloaded off of the South Bristol site, I see something that I do NOT see on the camera that I got.

Notice the area in the red circle. See the horizontal piece going over to the lens? I do NOT see this on my camera. I believe it's called a shutter release arm or body release arm. Compare image 1 with image 3.

Now the question...........

When moving the switch on the right side of the camera to FRONT, I notice that it causes the vertical rod on the front of the lens plate area to move up and down. From my understanding, it is suppose to trigger the shutter on the lens via the body release (which I take it to mean releasing the shutter) switch. BUT...it appears that the shutter release arm is suppose to be present to trip the shutter. Am I suppose to have a shutter/body release arm? Or is this something that comes on the lens? (I don't see them on the individual lens listed on eBay or anywhere else.)

Also I see in this picture a cylinder on the left side in front of the lens place with a hook on the top of it. What is this and what is it suppose to do? I DO have this on my camera. It appears to be hooked to the shutter.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Steve

Glenn Thoreson
2-Aug-2007, 18:05