PDA

View Full Version : E-6/Quickload processing problem,rollfilm question

Andy_1233
30-Sep-2000, 01:08
I'm new to 4 x 5 and before I started to put my system together I decided to che ck that I would be able to get 4 x 5 E-6 processing in my area at a reasonable p rice and with reasonable convenience. Otherwise I would use a roll-film back sin ce 120 film E-6 processing would not be a problem. I found two labs that fit the bill. After putting my system together I shot some slides (Quick Loads) and bro ught them to lab #1, where I was told in advance that processing would be $2 a s heet with two day turn around. When I finally picked up the slides ten days late r I was told the original quote was in error and that the cost would be $3.75 a sheet. Although the job was well done (forgetting the eight day discrepancy) at $3.75 a sheet I can't afford to shoot except only once in a blue moon.

I shot more film and went to lab #2 who promised $1.75 a sheet and one to two ho ur turn around. After picking up the first batch of slides I found first that th e clear plastic slide covers were scratched and in some places, creased. The sli des were also scratched. As a beginner I decided to give the lab the benefit of the doubt. I unloaded some new Quick Load envelopes straight from the box, went to my back yard to make some test exposures, then delivered them to the lab a co uple of days later. Same problem.

I've been gearing up for my first out of state trip with my 4 x 5 and not having a lab I can trust with my exposed film makes me uneasy. I was hoping somebody c ould offer some me some input: