PDA

View Full Version : Are flash bulbs dangerous

Rider
22-Jul-2007, 13:50
I've read that old fashioned flash bulbs can explode and injure people who are standing nearby.

Is there any way to mitigate against this?

Jim Ewins
22-Jul-2007, 14:09
As I recall bulbs produced in the late 40s had a plasstic coating so that peice wouldn't go flying, although I don't recall having any explode. I wouldn't connect one to house mains.

Bruce Watson
22-Jul-2007, 14:17
I used to use flash bulbs by the bucket full back in the 1970s when I was a press photographer covering high school sports. Better than strobes for stopping the action.

The problem was, what do you do with the used ones? You can't just drop them on the sidelines, and a basketball floor is even worse. So... they end up in your pockets. And that, is dangerous. One of the older hands used to tell us kids about getting involved in a sideline tackle. He didn't actually get creamed by the fullback or the linebacker; he managed to dance away at the last moment. But he did trip and fall, and landed right on a pocket full of used flash bulbs. He said the emergency room people picked glass and filaments out of his ass for hours and that he didn't walk right for weeks!

That said, I never had a flash bulb explode in use, nor did I manage to set one off while pushing it into the flash gun. Just be careful and somewhat paranoid (nearly always good advice) and you should be fine in most situations.

Ole Tjugen
22-Jul-2007, 14:17
Many flash reflectors have screens that go in front of the bulb. The smaller flash reflectors are made for smaller bulbs with a relatively thicker plastic coating, so the danger is far less. My Heiland 11" reflector has a heavy-duty plastic guard, my 4" Agfa fan-style has none...

Louie Powell
22-Jul-2007, 14:43