PDA

View Full Version : Focusing 90mm

Ben R
21-Jul-2007, 15:41
Hi,

I'm still new to LF, yet to expose my first frame. I bought 'Using the View Camera' but was very disappointed with it, far too much information about lenses and theory and almost nothing about how to set up and use the camera in the real world.
I didn't want to ask this question until I had read it, not wanting to sound stupid, but how do I focus my 90mm? With my 210mm it focuses fine but the front standard doesn't go back far enough
with the 90mm, I'm using a Tachihara 45.
I'm assuming that I have to move the back standard forward across the camera bed, but how much, to what point, etc, etc?
Another question, how do I know when I've focused past the point where I need to add compensation for bellows draw, is there a set distance or do I just need to be careful when I start out focusing to make sure I haven't run past infinity?

On an aside, I've seen in use cameras that have a compacting bellows arrangement on the back for use with the focusing screen. It would seem to me that using such a hood would be great for the intial composing of the image while swopping to the hood for focusing, less tedious than having to come out of the hood each time to adjust composition. Does such a thing exist or are they all mono/binocular view arrangements?

Many thanks.

Nick_3536
21-Jul-2007, 15:57
Each lens is a little different. But a 90mm needs about 90m to focus. Likely a little more. I think mine needs 98 mm to make infinity focus.

Bellows factor can be handled by the formula. Odds are in landscape use you'll not need it. OTOH for macros or other closer work some think like the disc works fine.

http://www.salzgeber.at/disc/

Dean Cookson
21-Jul-2007, 19:33
Move the back standard all the way forward, you can always rack the front standard out to then make focus at infinity.

Hiro
21-Jul-2007, 23:25