PDA

View Full Version : Large Format and Strobes

doncody
19-Jul-2007, 11:06
Pardon my ignorance - it's possible this thread is in the wrong place. I am a newbie to this forum and LF, coming from MF.:eek:

I shoot dance currently with a 503c digitally and use broncolor packs and strobes to freeze action (jumps, scarves, hair, etc.). This requires very fast duration on the part of the strobes, and the combination with the Blad is great. My question is can I achieve the same effect with LF? Will the shutters sync appropriately? Does the type of shutter matter-eg., Copal, Schneider electronic, etc?

I always shoot on a tripod and wind the Blad manually. Can I reset a LF camera as quickly, or close to it?

Thx,
Don

Peter De Smidt
19-Jul-2007, 11:24
Don, the difference is that to get the same image on the 4x5 as on the Hasselblad, you'll need to use a longer lens, and so you'll probably want to stop down more, which means more light. Depending on your strobes, this may mean that the flash duration will be longer, but were talking going from, say, 1/10,000 of a second to 1/2,000 of a second. This all depends on your strobe. The leaf shutters in view camera lenses- Copal, Prontor, Ilex...- sync at any speed. I believe that the same is true for the Sinar shutter.

Can you reset the LF camera as quickly? Well, you can use a self-cocking shutter, such as a Copal Press shutter, but the big slow down would be loading film holders. If you must shoot very fast, you probably need an assistant to put the film holders into the camera, lift the dark slide, put the dark slide back, pull holder out of camera, repeat. Practice with some empty film holders should speed things up, but you'll never be as fast shooting repeating shots as the Hasselblad.

David A. Goldfarb
19-Jul-2007, 11:31