PDA

View Full Version : how to fit schneider 110mm XL onto lens board?

Narcissist
15-Jul-2007, 10:09
Apologies for this really simple question, but I'm new to the lf game so bear with me. I've just got a schneider 110mm XL but I cannot figure out how to fit it onto the lens board!

There is a threaded ring that must tighten it down to the board but losening this right off still doesn't enable the rear element to be unscrewed - it will not turn.

What am I missing here?

Eric Woodbury
15-Jul-2007, 10:16
The rear elements should unscrew as a group. You shouldn't have to turn it very hard, it just comes off. Then unscrew that retailing ring and put it in the lensboard and all back together. If it is a new lens there may be a small stub of a set screw in the way. Just remove this and put it in your collection of camera junk. Some lenses may have shims between the lens groups and the shutter. Be sure these get back in the right place as they allow your lens to perform to spec. If the rear element won't separate from the shutter, then something is wrong. Don't force anything.

IanG
15-Jul-2007, 10:22
The rear elements of the lens should unscrew easily, anti-clockwise. It's not an old lens so there shouldn't be any problem. the ring you mention has no effect on removing the elements.

Sometimes they are tight so just try a little harder.

Ian

Narcissist
15-Jul-2007, 10:37
The lens is second hand but basically new. The rear element won't unscrew easily and I don't want to force something on a lens that cost me £700! I'll try and take it somewhere.

Thanks for the help.

Ron Marshall
15-Jul-2007, 10:52
S.K. Grimes site has diagrams:

http://www.skgrimes.com/lensmount/shutmt/index.htm

Gene McCluney
15-Jul-2007, 10:57