PDA

View Full Version : Witch camera I must buy?

Michel Berard
9-Jul-2007, 16:49
Hello I am new in large format, I work now with a Hasselbald I want to buy a 4x5 field camera, and I will probabely buy it at Badger Graphic, because here in Quebec Canada It's difficult to find a field camera.
But my hart balance between two 4x5 field cameras, the Shen-hao and the Tachihara, these camera will be perfect to my budget and my photographic type, landscape and some portrait all in black and white.
I am in possesion of 2 lens a 90mm Scheinder-Kreuznack Angulon 6.8 and a 210mm Rodenstock Gironar 6.8. and a old Orbit studio camera of approx ten pounds.
Can I have some advice between these two camera.
Thanks

Walter Calahan
9-Jul-2007, 17:50
Get the Shen-hao.

The Tachihara will put a 'spell' on you. Grin

MIke Sherck
9-Jul-2007, 19:33
The Tachihara is lighter than the Shen Hao by a considerable amount; the Shen may be a little more rugged. The Tachihara has a little less bellows extension than the Shen Hao (about 25mm less, I believe.) The Shen Hao may have a little more in the way of movements with the 210mm lens; the Tachihara may give you a little more movement with the 90mm.

I have friends with each of these cameras but have never owned one myself. My use of 4x5 cameras lends itself to needing more bellows extension than either of these cameras provides but if I were having to choose between them it would probably come down to least price/fastest availability.

Don't worry: choosing the camera is the most difficult part of large format photography. If you are like most of us, you'll go through the exercise several times! :) Good luck!

Mike

Bill_1856
9-Jul-2007, 19:46
If you already have a Hasselblad (which uses some of the world's best optics), why in the world would you want to throw money at a low-end 4x5 field camera just so you could use the not-particularly good lenses already in your possession? It seems like a step backwards to me.

Brian Ellis