PDA

View Full Version : am i printing too small?

Los
30-Jun-2007, 23:59
i've been printing 4x5 b&w and color negs at 8x10 for the last 4 months or so. while i do see some increase in tonality and resolution (i'll explain), i'm missing the snappy sharpness that i'm used to seeing in 6x7 neg prints. would i see this in larger prints from the 4x5? i understand that hi-res images at low magnifications can sometimes appear smooth in a way that looks "soft" as opposed to snappy. about the resolution, i know that my 4x5 system may have a lower overall resolution, but the large image area records details that are not rendered as clearly on the smaller negs. so, to me it looks like more resolution.

turtle
1-Jul-2007, 04:20
i've been printing 4x5 b&w and color negs at 8x10 for the last 4 months or so. while i do see some increase in tonality and resolution (i'll explain), i'm missing the snappy sharpness that i'm used to seeing in 6x7 neg prints. would i see this in larger prints from the 4x5? i understand that hi-res images at low magnifications can sometimes appear smooth in a way that looks "soft" as opposed to snappy. about the resolution, i know that my 4x5 system may have a lower overall resolution, but the large image area records details that are not rendered as clearly on the smaller negs. so, to me it looks like more resolution.

Smack on! IMO, the answer is yes, you will see this at larger prints...This is why I dont like printing acros at small enlargements (because it is so fine grained), why I print at about 12x9.5 minimum for 5x4 negs and prefer traditional films unless I am making big enlargements. It is also why I would prefer to print a 5x4 neg from TriX or HP5+ on 10x8 paper than Delta 100 by far, as the print has more bite.