PDA

View Full Version : Polaroid 54 hints

Christopher Hansen
22-Jun-2007, 22:18
I'm new to large format photography and I'm still developing some basic skills. I've tried using a Polaroid back and Polaroid 54 film to get some instant feedback of my composition, use of filters, focus, and exposure in the field. After getting a decent Polaroid then I do the "real" shot on E-6.

The problem is my Polaroids don't look that great. They aren't that sharp (even when the E-6 transparency is sharp). The images sometimes have a mottled look with white patches. Sometimes I even see some brown on the image. Is this normal? Even the blotchy Polaroids are helpful in the field, but I'm wondering if I'm doing something wrong.

Thanks for any help you can provide.

Gene McCluney
22-Jun-2007, 22:26
It is sometimes hard to get "perfect" polaroids. The holder has to be in pristine shape, and you have to develop a nice even "pull" on the processing step. I get blotchy polaroids all the time, but they are good enough to judge exposure and composition. I never try to judge sharpness or color balance...as polaroid has its own pallete. Also, polaroid has wierd reciprocity effects that conventional film does not have. Been shooting polaroids for 40 years, you are not experiencing anything new.

A.C.
23-Jun-2007, 01:53
It is sometimes hard to get "perfect" polaroids. The holder has to be in pristine shape, and you have to develop a nice even "pull" on the processing step. I get blotchy polaroids all the time, but they are good enough to judge exposure and composition. I never try to judge sharpness or color balance...as polaroid has its own pallete. Also, polaroid has wierd reciprocity effects that conventional film does not have. Been shooting polaroids for 40 years, you are not experiencing anything new.

...I'm glad about that, because I was also wondering if it was me!!

Aynsley

Ted Harris
23-Jun-2007, 04:04
One additional point ... T54 is far from the 'sharpest' of the Polaroid films.