PDA

View Full Version : Unicolor Discovery!

John Kasaian
13-Jun-2007, 10:06
OK maybe you all ready know this, but I didn't so for the benefit of those of us who don't:

If you use a Unicolor processor, the 8x10 paper drum---not the 11x14---has the stops arranged to accept two sheets of 5x7 film with the shorter ends inserted first.

I process nearly all of my 8x10 film in my Unicolor with the 11x14 paper drum, but I could never get the 5x7 film to fit. This morning I was exploring the 'cannibal box' and found an 8x10 drum and made my discovery! :D Now all I have to do is find a flange that will fit the threads on the :eek: aero ektar.

Cheers!

Pat Kearns
13-Jun-2007, 10:21
The Beseler 8x10 Color Drum will work with the 5x7 the same way. Along with my 4x5 I started shooting with a Premo Pony #3 using 5x7 film. I already had on Beseler drum so I started buying them off Ebay whenever I saw one. After the third one came in the mail the scowl on my wife's face gave me the message that if a fourth one came, it would be used as an urn for my ashes! :eek:

Michael Graves
13-Jun-2007, 10:52
Hey, John, what size is the flange on that lens? I have one that I was using as a collar on my wife's cat until it got so fat (the cat, not the flange) that it wouldn't fit any more. I wanted to just leave it on because I liked the way the cat looked with a calico body and a blue face...but you know how it is. Anyway, if you can estimate the diameter and thread pitch, I'll clean out the cat hair and see it this one comes close.

John Kasaian
13-Jun-2007, 11:14
Hey, John, what size is the flange on that lens? I have one that I was using as a collar on my wife's cat until it got so fat (the cat, not the flange) that it wouldn't fit any more. I wanted to just leave it on because I liked the way the cat looked with a calico body and a blue face...but you know how it is. Anyway, if you can estimate the diameter and thread pitch, I'll clean out the cat hair and see it this one comes close.