PDA

View Full Version : Lens help!!

radchad
7-Jun-2007, 22:01
Hi,
So i am a pro with 35mm lenes, but a total noob with 4x5. I am on KEH, and looking at used lenses. I am looking for like a 150 to 210 in like the $100-$300 range. I am not expecting a really great lens. I am having trouble with all of the secret lingo of lenses. Like 65 mount, aposymnar etc. All i know is copal size and lengths. What is a barrel lens, and how do i know what the lenses stats are like f-stops and shutter speeds? I also want a big image circle so i can use my tilts and such how do i know the image circle size?
thanks
chad

Mark Sawyer
7-Jun-2007, 22:27
This is a nice little table for reference to common lenses, that lists maximum aperture and image circle:

http://www.cocam.co.uk/CoCamWS/Equip/LFlensSpec.htm

A barrel lens has no shutter, but usually (not always) has a diaphragm.

John Kasaian
7-Jun-2007, 22:46
203mm f/7.7 Ektar is all you need to know---expect to pay about $1/mm ;)

Brian Ellis
8-Jun-2007, 07:59
Large format lenses aren't manufactured with shutters, the lenses are mounted in a separate shutter and the shutter isn't made by the same company that makes the lenses. A barrel lens is a lens that isn't mounted in a shutter so if you bought such a lens you'd either have to buy a shutter separately and have it mounted on the lens or use it without a shutter (feasible only if you habitually use shutter speeds of about a second or longer, in which case you can take the lens cap on and off for the required time or deal with the lack of a shutter in other ways).