PDA

View Full Version : Beginner Questions

dahamsta7
4-Jun-2007, 11:43
I'm new to all this and about to start a class but had some questions that I hoped could get answered.

1) Can I take the negatives from already developed film and go to a darkroom and enlarge them?

2) Can I enlarge color film negatives to black and white?

3) Can APS film be developed in a darkroom?

4) With darkrooms, is the purpose to develop and enlarge mainly? Or do more people develop to standard 4x6?

Any help would be much appreciated! Thank.s

j.e.simmons
4-Jun-2007, 11:53
Here are brief answers:
1. Yes, provided the enlarger will accept the film size - for instance, you couldn't enlarge 4x5 negatives in a 35mm enlarger.
2. Yes, but the grays may not exactly match the contrast you'd expect. Keeping it simple, the paper does not see color the same way the eye does, so the contrast will be a bit different. But generally, you should get a recognizable image.
3. I have no idea - never shot APS.
4. 4x6 is generally a standard size for 35mm film - it is enlarged. Most folks use a darkroom for enlarging, although many of us here make contact prints from large negatives.
juan

dahamsta7
4-Jun-2007, 12:16
Thanks for the answers! Much appreciated.

QUestion on when you say "you couldn't enlarge 4x5 negatives in a 35mm enlarger."

Aren't negatives all 35mm? Like when you buy film for an SLR is 35mm. And then you take it somewhere to get developed and they give you negatives. And then from there you can determine how large to develop it to? I guess your wording just seems backwards to me.

Nick_3536
4-Jun-2007, 12:28
http://www.fineartphotosupply.com/Fine%20Art%20Pan%20Sheet%20Film.htm

The second picture is one corner of a piece of sheet film. The smallest sheet film is much bigger then 35mm negatives. A 4x5 is basically 4"x5"

Louie Powell
4-Jun-2007, 13:18
Aren't negatives all 35mm? .

Not at all!