PDA

View Full Version : Epson v750 scanning bw negatives

Paul Redstone
30-May-2007, 06:51
Hi
I just started using the epson v750 with Silverfast Ai scanning 4x5 Ilford Delta and fp4.
It seems that on some negs an area that appears to eye to be lighter but still have much detail, scanns as though it is blownout-- loss of detail. I have tried some adjustments- exposure, curves but can seem to extract the "detail" I could be grossly deceived by my eye but don't know what else to do. I am using the flim holder that comes with the Epson.
thanks
Paul Redstone

Jrewt
30-May-2007, 07:00
I have had this scanner (my first) for a few weeks now, and I have come upon this situation as well. One of two of my negatives that were to thin did this, and no amount of adjusting could remedy the problem. Although the negs were printable, they just seemed to thin for the scanner- but, I am a UBER beginner at both scanning, and adjustment in PS. Try a denser negative, that is my suggestion.

sparq
30-May-2007, 07:56
Try to scan it as a 16bit HDR Grayscale and see if you can salvage the picture in a photo editor.

Leonard Evens
30-May-2007, 08:13
I don't use SilverFast, but I have lots of experience scanning. I'm assuming Silverfast shows the corresponding positive curve so that shadows would be indicated by low values. First, make sure your black point is set at zero and set your white point just above where the highlights white out. Adjust the curve control so that the shadows are still anchored at zero but bow upward. That will increase contrast in the shadow areas and lower contrast in the middle and upper range. that should bring out shadow detail if it is there in the negative. You could also read the densities in the shadow areas and see how much they vary. If they are all relatively close together and all close to zero, the fault is probably in the negative.

You might also try scanning the negative as transparency film, inverting, and then applying the above methods.