PDA

View Full Version : Newbie camera advice for landscapes. 6x9?

Pigeon
9-May-2007, 22:31
Hi all,

I need some advice on purchasing a camera system for landscape work (as I have never used a view/field camera before).

1. Is the 6x9 format too small for landscape work in terms of final print size? Can I assume 16x20 sized prints would be the max enlargement?

The 6x9 is appealing because:
-I already own a Nikon 9000 scanner which would be perfect for 6x9 scans.
-Being able to bracket exposures using 120 film plus cheaper to buy and more lab-accessible for processing.
-I am of small(ish) build and weight/portability is an issue.

2. Is an Arca-Swiss F metric compact (either 4x5 or 6x9) overkill in terms of movements and features for landscape work? For instance, are yaw-free movements, geared movements so helpful?

Should I be looking for a simpler, lighter system such as the Ebony's? I do like wideangles in my 35mm work, so I would need a system to cope with 20-21mm equiv. in 35mm format.

3. Are there any web links to photos of this particular Arca Swiss camera with photographers (or their hands) using the camera, so I have an idea of the size of the camera?

Apologies for so many questions (but I am a newbie!).

Any advice or comments appreciated.

Thanks.

Vaughn
10-May-2007, 00:29
I assume you want to stick with roll film, so 6x9 will make fine 16x20 enlargements.

Yes, I believe yaw-free movements are over-kill for landscapes (note...personal opinion, your milage may differ.)

I suggest getting a 4x5 field camera so that you have the option of going 4x5 if you wish and then using roll backs to fit it for the use of 120 roll film. Field cameras can weigh under 4 pounds.