PDA

View Full Version : Wiki normal lens entry needs correction

Leonard Evens
3-May-2007, 08:19
At

en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Normal_lens

the values given for the diagonals of 4 x 5 film and 8 x 10 film are wrong. They give the diagonals of the full size film assuming it is equal to the specified dimensions in inches. It ignores the fact that the actual film area is less. Thus, the actual film area for 4 x 5 is about 95.5 x 120 mm with a diagonal of just about 153 mm. That makes the choice of 150 mm as the normal focal length seem more reasonable. Similar remarks must apply to 8 x 10, but I don't do 8 x 10 photography, so I have no direct experience. (The also seem to think the normal focal length for 8 x 10 is 355 mm, which surprises me. I thought it was 300 mm.) I know the dimensions of the actual film area in that case appear somewhere on the web, but I haven't been able to find them. I could guess, but perhaps someone who actually knows could edit the Wikipedia article for both 4 x 5 and 8 x 10.

Vaughn
3-May-2007, 11:30
At

en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Normal_lens

(The also seem to think the normal focal length for 8 x 10 is 355 mm, which surprises me. I thought it was 300 mm.) I know the dimensions of the actual film area in that case appear somewhere on the web, but I haven't been able to find them. I could guess, but perhaps someone who actually knows could edit the Wikipedia article for both 4 x 5 and 8 x 10.

Why be normal? Besides that, I would consider "normal" to be a range of focal lengths-- not an absolute number for each format.

I just measured an 8x10 neg...315mm of image area, 325mm total length, of the diagonal. I would consider 300mm to be on the wide side of "normal and 360mm to be on the long side of "Normal". I shoot a lot with my 300mm on 8x10...it seems pretty normal to me.

A 250mm lens of an 8x10 would then be on the long side of wide and a 420mm, on the wide side of long.