PDA

View Full Version : Problems W/Polaroid Back/Type 55

Josef Isayo
29-Apr-2007, 08:08
I'm shooting a Littman 45 single with a Polaroid 545i Back. I do alot of location shooting with Type 55 film but would like to shoot and process at a later time. I was told you can process your film (I'm new to LF Photography) at a later time but have no success pulling the film out without tearing it.
Could it be that I have a bad back? I did buy it used.

Thanks!

Gene McCluney
29-Apr-2007, 08:15
It is possible you have a bad back, or just a dirty back. Notice on the back the swing lever for loading and processing. when you swing the lever down for processing, it presses on a little "L" shaped lever. If you leave the swing lever in the "up" or "loading" position, and you manually depress the little "L" shaped lever, the film should pull right out. It is this little "L" shaped lever that releases the film from the back. If the film does not pull right out in one piece, then you probably have dirty rollers that are catching on the film. You can open up the back from the camera side (a swing-door over the rollers) and inspect the rollers, which can also be separated with two catches, for cleaning.

Later when you want to process the film, insert the film into the back with the swing lever in top position. Move swing lever to bottom position and smoothly pull out film and start timing the development.

Ted Harris
29-Apr-2007, 09:12
LOL, Gene wish it was as simple as that. It should be but it isn't. In fact Polaroid has a tech bulletin just onpulling the film out for later processing. I posted it here once but can't find it right now soif someone else can great.