PDA

View Full Version : Monorail in Field Conditions...

Orgnoi1
26-Apr-2007, 15:05
OK another newbie question from me :p

Is there anything special I should know when using a monorail in field conditions aside (of course) from the fact that the monorail takes up a TON more room to carry and such?

Ash
26-Apr-2007, 15:13
It's gonna be heavy, it's gonna need a strong tripod. Bout it :)

Bruce Watson
26-Apr-2007, 15:26
Is there anything special I should know when using a monorail in field conditions aside (of course) from the fact that the monorail takes up a TON more room to carry and such?

You must be joking. The lightest 5x4 camera commonly available is a field monorail from Toho. (http://www.thalmann.com/largeformat/toho.htm)

I've been using a Toho for five years now. Excellent camera. Very stiff, very light weight, and full movements on both ends. I use it with a very light carbon fiber tripod.

I bought mine from Badger Graphic Sales. (http://www.badgergraphic.com/)

Ron Marshall
26-Apr-2007, 15:30
Another vote of confidence in the Toho. I use 75 to 450mm lenses and a light CF tripod. Packs into two tiny packages.

Harley Goldman
26-Apr-2007, 15:36
I use a Toho and an Arca in the field. The Arca does not take up a whole lot more room than my old Wista wooden field camera, is much faster and easier to set up and way more rigid and solid. The Toho is quite compact and is also pretty easy to use. So I guess it depends on what monorail camera you have.

Nothing special to know about using one in the field, either.

Orgnoi1
26-Apr-2007, 15:40
Well the problem is... I HAVE a monorail already a Toyo-Omega 45D... certainly not going to go buy another...LOL...

And I wasnt joking... I only recently bought my camera so I am asking a legitimate question as to if I should be weary of conditions and such... I am a newbie to LF...but not to photography... =)

Walter Calahan
26-Apr-2007, 16:25